wift-logoOn Tuesday November 15, the Palm Springs Women in Film and Television will hold their 8th Annual Broken Glass Awards. The gala luncheon was created to honor women who have “broken through the glass ceiling” in film, television, the arts and philanthropy to pave the way for others to follow.  The event will be held at the Agua Caliente Casino Resort and Spa starting at 11am. Tickets are available for purchase for $100 a piece at http://www.pswift.org/.

Each year the BGA’s honor 4-5 women who have distinguished themselves as wonderful examples and successful pioneers in our industry.  Last year, the Broken Glass Awards honored Jane Seymour, Mary McDonnell, Joyce Bulifant, Beverly Johnson and local philanthropist Art Museum Chair Donna MacMillan. Other past honorees include Jacqueline Bisset, Della Reese, Suzanne de Passe, Gale Ann Hurd, the Team Todd sisters, Kim Waltrip, Gloria Greer, Donna Mills, Raquel Welch, Shirley Jones, Alfre Woodard, Ruta Lee, Mary Hart, Shari Belafonte, Elinor Donahue, Deborah Kara Unger and philanthropists Rozene Supple, Helene Galen, Barbara Keller, Lisa Houston, Barbara Sinatra and Peggy Cravens.

More than 300 guests attend the BGA’s each year. With Red Carpet arrivals and extensive media coverage, it is one of the outstanding events in the social season in the Palm Springs area.  Proceeds from the BGA’s are directed to industry networking, workshops and scholarships enabling young people to advance their educations in film and television studies. The BGA’s also support BookPALS, an outreach program where SAG alum read to nearly 2,400 elementary school students each week.

PSWIFT was founded in 2000 to nurture, mentor and empower women and men in our community pursuing careers in our industry. The organization has more than 100 members and sponsors educational seminars and luncheons, social networking among industry professionals, job listings and outreach to students in arts and entertainment.